[CHIP NTC] No sound from CHIP Computer Board


Hi Chipsters,

Recently I got a weird problem happen on my CHIP. It could not produce any sound from it. I cannot play any media also. It seems hang when I play media. When I tried to list down the sound card via this command : “aplay -l”, the output looks like this :

chip@chip:/usr/bin$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: sun4icodec [sun4i-codec], device 0: CDC PCM Codec-0 []
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

At first, I guess the problem due to subdevices is 0. But after some googling and trial error, I found the problem is on alsamixer.

The problem is alsamixer is on muted mode.

If you open alsamixer via terminal, you can see this screen :

From this screen, you can see every component has 2 possible values :

  • MM : means muted
  • 00 : means not muted

Your job is to change some configuration from “MM” to “00” by pressing ‘M’ key

Hope this tutorial help you guys to resolve the sound problem on your CHIP.

Leave a comment